Dalrymple requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for spring flooding


N.D. Governor Jack Dalrymple on Friday sent a letter to President Obama requesting a federal disaster declaration for 39 counties and three reservations seeking recovery assistance for damages resulting from spring flooding. The declaration would cover damages to homes, personal property and public infrastructure resulting from severe flooding in the James, Missouri, Red, Mouse (Souris) River and Devils Lake Basins.

“The federal assistance that will be made available with this declaration will support the significant state and local recovery efforts that have occurred statewide in response to severe spring flooding,” Dalrymple said. “This assistance will serve as an important tool in the state’s recovery efforts, and will help to reduce economic hardship and ensure the safety of our citizens.”

The declaration would provide federal resources and financial assistance to help local and tribal jurisdictions recover costs associated with severe spring flooding and ground saturation. These conditions were compounded by consecutive years of excessive precipitation; abnormal high water equivalent in the winter snowpack; full sloughs, ponds and wetlands; log and ice jams; and the prospect of additional moisture this spring and summer.

Dalrymple requested that the incident period begin on February 14, 2011, the day that major flood preparations began across the state. This date coincides with a request Dalrymple made on February 25, 2011, regarding a presidential emergency declaration.

The Governor’s request follows completion of a preliminary damage assessment by federal, state and local officials, which is a prerequisite to the presidential request. Statewide estimates of damage compiled by these teams show losses of more than $43 million to public infrastructure. If approved, the declaration will cover 75 percent of the eligible costs of damages incurred from spring flooding.

The declaration includes the counties of Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams, as well as the Spirit Lake Nation, Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation.

Source: The office of Governor Dalrymple