Presidential Flood Disaster Declaration Approved for South Dakota


Governor Dennis Daugaard announced on Friday that 28 South Dakota counties will get federal financial assistance to help recover from widespread spring flooding.

The assistance is made available through a Presidential Disaster Declaration signed Friday, May 13, 2011, by President Obama. The financial assistance is for emergency work and repair or replacement of flood-damaged public infrastructure.

Preliminary assessments showed the flooding caused an estimated $7.1 million in damage to roads, culverts, bridges and other public infrastructure in the affected counties.

“Flooding has caused extensive damage in the eastern half of South Dakota, and federal funds to help pay for the cost of repairing damage to roads and other public property will bring welcome relief,” the Governor said. “I appreciate the quick response to my request earlier this week for a Presidential Disaster Declaration.’’

A disaster declaration authorizes the federal government to provide relief and recovery assistance for up to 75 percent of the eligible damage to public infrastructure in the affected areas.

Counties included in the request are: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Clark, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, Miner, Moody, Perkins, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink and Sully.

Source: the office of Governor Daugaard