FEMA approves Burleigh and Ward Counties for Individual Assistance Program


Governor Jack Dalrymple was informed late Friday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved the Individual Assistance Program for the counties of Burleigh and Ward.

Dalrymple requested that FEMA provide the Individual Assistance to homeowners and business owners in 22 counties and two Indian reservations.

“It’s good that they acknowledged the dire need for this assistance in Burleigh and Ward counties, but I am disappointed that FEMA has failed to recognize the major flood damages realized in many other communities throughout the state,” Dalrymple said. “I will continue to press FEMA’s top administrators to include all 22 counties and two reservations in the Individual Assistance Program.”

In Burleigh and Ward counties, the Individual Assistance Program will initiate the opening of Disaster Recovery Centers. The North Dakota Department of Emergency Services and FEMA plan to soon open two recovery centers in Minot, with one in the north part of town and another in south Minot.  A third center will be opened in Bismarck.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program will not cover all flood damages, but is designed to relieve the impact of losses for people with low and moderate incomes.  The program can provide people who are eligible with assistance to help cover costs for temporary housing, repairs to their homes, and funding toward replacement of a home that has been totally destroyed. It also includes “Other Needs Assistance,” which may cover medical, transportation, moving and storage, and other expenses associated with personal loss due to flooding.  People who have lost their jobs or unable to reach their place of work may also be eligible for assistance.

Dalrymple requested approval for the Individual Assistance Program for 22 counties and two Indian reservations where flooding has caused major damages to homes and businesses. The counties and Indian reservations included in the state’s request for Individual Assistance are: Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Eddy, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McLean, Morton, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Ward and Walsh Counties as well as the Spirit Lake Nation and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Source: office of Governor Dalrymple