ND counties are added to group to receive federal flood aid


Jack Dalrymple was informed yesterday that President Obama has included the counties of Morton, Renville and McHenry counties to receive federal flood aid under the Individual Assistance Program.

To date, the President has approved Individual Assistance for homeowners and business owners in five counties: Ward, Burleigh, Morton, Renville and McHenry. Dalrymple has requested that the Federal Emergency Management Agency provide Individual Assistance in 22 counties and two Indian reservations hard hit by major flooding.

“Having these three counties approved for Individual Assistance is good news, but we will continue to work with FEMA to gather more damage information so that other counties can be approved for the same assistance,” Dalrymple said.

FEMA officials said Wednesday that they will next review flood damages in Ramsey, Benson and Nelson counties.

Dalrymple encouraged homeowners and business owners who have been affected by flooding to register with FEMA for assistance. About 5,000 households have registered.

In Burleigh and Ward counties, the Individual Assistance Program has triggered the opening of Disaster Recovery Centers. The North Dakota Department of Emergency Services and FEMA are assisting residents and business owners from two centers in Minot and one in Bismarck.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program will not cover all flood damages, but is designed to relieve the impact of losses for people with low and moderate incomes.  The program can provide people who are eligible with assistance to help cover costs for temporary housing, repairs to their homes, and funding toward replacement of a home that has been totally destroyed. It also includes “Other Needs Assistance,” which may cover medical, transportation, moving and storage, and other expenses associated with personal loss due to flooding.  People who have lost their jobs or unable to reach their place of work may also be eligible for assistance.

The counties and Indian reservations included in the state’s request for Individual Assistance are: Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Eddy, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McLean, Morton, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Ward and Walsh Counties as well as the Spirit Lake Nation and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

source: office of Governor Dalrymple