Individual assistance expanded to include three more counties and Spirit Lake Nation


Governor Jack Dalrymple was informed today that President Obama has included Barnes, Ramsey, and Richland counties and the Spirit Lake Nation to receive federal flood aid under the Individual Assistance Program.

The President has previously agreed to provide Individual Assistance for flood-impacted homeowners and business owners in the counties of Ward, Burleigh, Morton, Renville and McHenry.

“Getting these counties and the Spirit Lake Nation approved for Individual Assistance is important because they are dealing with major flooding of their own,” Dalrymple said. “We still have homeowners and business owners in other areas of the state that need this federal flood recovery assistance and we will continue to work with the Federal Emergency Management Agency to get other counties approved for the Individual Assistance program.”

Since May 23, Dalrymple has requested that FEMA provide Individual Assistance for North Dakota homeowners and business owners who suffer losses due to major flooding.  His request to FEMA continues to include offering Individual Assistance in the counties of:  Benson, Cass, Dickey, Eddy, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Logan, McLean, Nelson, Pembina, Ransom, Stutsman, Towner, Traill and Walsh and for the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program will not cover all flood damages, but is designed to relieve the impact of losses for people with low and moderate incomes.  The program can assistance to help cover costs for temporary housing, repairs to their homes, and funding toward replacement of a home that has been totally destroyed. It also includes “Other Needs Assistance,” which may cover medical, transportation, moving and storage, and other expenses associated with personal loss due to flooding.  People who have lost their jobs or unable to reach their place of work may also be eligible for assistance.

Source: office of Governor Dalrymple