Grains Council elects 2012 leadership, Mark Seastrand of North Dakota Barley Council named director


At the U.S. Grains Council’s 51st Annual Board of Delegates Meeting in San Francisco last week, the Council delegate body elected its 2011/2012 leadership to serve on the Council’s Board of Directors.

“We congratulate the new officers of the U.S. Grains Council and look forward to working with them to increase export opportunities for U.S. corn farmers,” said National Corn Growers Association President Bart Schott. “NCGA and the Council have historically enjoyed a productive, successful relationship, and these new officers will help us continue this legacy. Through our work together, we can help ensure the U.S. corn industry has the opportunity to fully utilize its ability to provide food, feed, fuel and fiber to a growing global population.”

The Council welcomed a new chairman, Wendell Shauman of the Illinois Corn Marking Board. Shauman and his wife, Janet, operate a corn and soybean farm in Western Illinois near the Mississippi River. Their farm operation also includes a small cow herd.

Shauman graduated from Monmouth College with a Bachelor’s degree in Chemistry and earned his Master’s degree in Agronomy and Doctorate in Quantitative Genetics from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Prior to returning to the family farm in 1975, Shauman was a corn breeder for Funk Seeds International for five years.

The newest member of the officer team is Ron Gray, Illinois Corn Marketing Board, who was elected as secretary. Terry Vinduska, 2010/2011 USGC chairman, said the Council is fortunate to have many qualified individuals passionate about the agricultural industry in leadership positions at the Council.

“Our new chairman, Wendell Shauman, the Board of Directors, Board of Delegates, A-Team leaders and state liaisons provide excellent insight into the challenges and opportunities in the international market arena,” said Vinduska.

The slate of officers is as follows: Chairman Wendell Shauman of Illinois Corn Marking Board; Vice Chairman Don Fast of Montana Wheat and Barley Committee; Treasurer Julius Schaaf of Iowa Corn Promotion Board; Secretary Ron Gray of Illinois Corn Marketing Board; and Past Chairman Terry Vinduska of Kansas Corn Commission.

The Council also elected two at-large members and three sector directors to the board. At-large directors include newly elected Charles Ring of Corn Producers Association of Texas and re-elected Darrel McAlexander of Iowa Corn Promotion Board. Dave Lyons, Louis Dreyfus Commodities, was re-elected as the Agribusiness Sector Director. Chip Councell of Maryland Grain Producers Utilization Board; Troy Skarke of United Sorghum Checkoff Program; and Mark Seastrand of North Dakota Barley Council, were named new directors representing the corn, sorghum and barley sectors respectively.