USDA designates 3 counties in South Dakota as Primary Natural Disaster Areas, 2 counties natural disaster areas in North Dakota


The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Clay, Marshall and Sanborn counties in South Dakota as natural disaster areas due to losses caused by flooding that began April 1, 2011, and continues.

“South Dakota producers can continue to count on USDA to provide emergency assistance during difficult times,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “America’s farmers and rural communities are vitally important to our nation’s economy, producing the food, feed, fiber and fuel that continue to help us grow and out-compete the rest of the world. President Obama and I are committed to using the resources at our disposal to reduce the impact of this disaster on South Dakota producers and help to get those affected back on their feet.”

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in South Dakota also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

Aurora Beadle Brown Davison
Day Hanson Jerauld Kingsbury
Lincoln Miner Roberts Turner
Union Yankton


Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in  North Dakota also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

North Dakota

Richland Sargent

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Oct. 12, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

FSA news releases are available on FSA’s website at http://www.fsa.usda.govvia the “News and Events” link.

Source: USDA FSA