Witness list released ahead of House Flood Hearing tomorrow


The House Transportation Subcommittee released the witness list for the hearing scheduled for Wednesday to review the response and management of the major 2011 flood of the Missouri River.

The Subcommittee on Water Resources and Environment, chaired by U.S. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH), has jurisdiction over the Missouri River, which is is the longest river in the United States, covering approximately 328 million acres.  The Subcommittee also has jurisdiction over the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, which manages a comprehensive system for the purposes of flood control, navigation improvement, irrigation, municipal and industrial water supply, hydroelectric generation facilities, and other                   important purposes for the 10 states in the Missouri River Basin.

The Army Corps of Engineers is in the process of writing their 2012 operating plan for the basin, and the flood of 2011 will serve as a source of many lessons learned as they work to determine a plan to operate the system in the coming year. The Subcommittee on Wednesday will review the response to the 2011 flood, as well as the management of the system throughout the year, in order to better understand how best to operate the basin in the future.

The November 30th hearing was originally requested by the Missouri River Flood Working Group earlier this year, which Rep. Noem helps lead.

“I’m looking forward to this hearing, including the stories we will hear and the facts we hope to uncover.  We need to learn from the events that happened earlier this year to make sure they don’t happen again,” said Noem.



Hearing of the U.S. House Water Resources and Environment Subcommittee: “The Missouri River Flood: An Assessment of the River Management in 2011 and Operational Plans for the Future”

U.S. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Chairman Testimony from Rep. Kristi Noem, Fort Pierre Director of Public Works Brad Lawrence
Full witness list below.

10:00 a.m. CT, 9:00 a.m. MT, Wednesday, November 30, 2011



2167 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
A live webcast of this hearing will be available at http://transportation.house.gov



·U.S. Rep. Kristi Noem of South Dakota

·U.S. Rep. Vicky Hartzler of Missouri

·U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer of Missouri

·U.S. Rep. Steve King o Iowa

·U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver of Missouri

·U.S. Rep. Rick Berg of North Dakota

·U.S. Rep. Jeff Fortenberry of Nebraska

·Brigadier General John McMahon, Commander and Division Engineer, United States Army Corps of Engineers, Northwestern Division

·Ms. Kathy Kunkel, County Clerk, Holt County, Missouri

·Mr. Tom Waters, President, Missouri Levee and Drainage District Association

·Mr. Brad Lawrence, Director of Public Works, City of Fort Pierre, South Dakota

·Mr. Richard Oswald, Langdon,Missouri


Source: House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee