American Agri-Women present Veritas Award to Dr. Barry Flinchbaugh


Women involved in agriculture from throughout the U.S. and Canada met in Wichita, Kan., recently for the 36th annual American Agri-Women (AAW) convention. They elected officers, recognized outstanding contributors – and gathered information and resources to advocate for agriculture.

AAW ( is a national coalition of more than 40,000 farm, ranch and agribusiness women, representing 60 state and commodity affiliates.

  •  President: Karen Yost, Billings, MontanaNational officers for 2012 are:
  •  First Vice President for Resolutions & Vital Issues: Sue McCrum, Mars Hill, Maine
  •  Vice President Communications: Abby Amick, Alma, Kan.
  •  Vice President Education: Lisa Condon, Horicon, Wis.
  •  Secretary: Jody Elrod, Sinton, Texas
  •  Treasurer: Peggy Clark, Dayton, Ohio
  •  Past-President: Chris Wilson, Manhattan, Kan.

Award winners

Dr. Barry Flinchbaugh, professor of ag economics at Kansas State University received the Veritas award for exemplifying the organization’s “pursuit of truth” ideal. He has had a distinguished career in academia, consulted with the U.S. Congress and others on ag policy and is the author of more than 100 publications.

Two women were presented with the Leaven award, the organization’s highest honor for members.

  •  Carol Chandler, California Women for Agriculture
  •  Julie Tesch, Minnesota Agri-Women

Convention speakers covered the latest issues in agriculture including sustainability, marketing, environmental topics, energy, estate planning, advocacy, and more.

Source: American Agri-Women