North Dakota cattleman elected to Beef Industry Leadership post


Jerry Effertz, a third generation rancher from Velva, has been named to the national Beef Promotion Operating Committee (BPOC). The BPOC is a 20-member producer panel that helps select and fund national beef demand-building programs with monies collected through the beef checkoff, a market development program funded by U.S. beef producers and importers.

Effertz was elected to a one-year term during the 2012 National Cattle Industry Winter Convention and NCBA Trade Show, held Feb. 1-4, in Nashville, Tenn.  He is one of 10 cattlemen representing the Federation of State Beef Councils on the BPOC. The other 10 members are chosen by the Cattlemen’s Beef Board (CBB).

The BPOC sets the annual budget and allocates checkoff dollars for beef research, promotion and education programs that help drive national and international demand for beef.

Effertz and his family operate Black Butte Acres Limousin Ranch, a stocker/backgrounder and seedstock operation near Velva. In an effort to educate people about the cattle business and environmental stewardship, the family also owns Black Butte Adventures, which features public farm tours, hiking and biking activities on ranch land.  

Effertz is a board member and former chairman of the North Dakota Beef Commission and a former chairman of the North Dakota Stockmen’s Purebred Council. He is a founding member and former chairman of the state Limousin association, and helped found the eight-state regional Heartland Limousin Association.

At the national level, he is a North Dakota representative on the Federation, a division of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA). He is now a member of the checkoff’s Public Opinion and Issues Management Group/Public Relations Subcommittee and a former member of the Retail Committee.

Effertz is also active in community activities. He is a past president of the state fair board of directors; a former director and chair of the state Board of Ag Research and Education; chairman of the state commission on the Future of Agriculture; and a board member of the N.D. University System Foundation.

Source: ND Beef Commission