USDA Designates 27 South Dakota Counties as Disaster Areas, Producers Eligible for Aid

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agriculture (USDA) has designated 27 counties in South Dakota as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by the recent drought.

The counties are: Bon Homme, Butte, Charles Mix, Clay, Corson, Dewey, Fall River, Gregory, Haakon, Harding, Hughes, Jackson, Jones, Meade, Mellette, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Shannon, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union, Yankton and Ziebach
“Our hearts go out to those South Dakota farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling South Dakota producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”
Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in South Dakota also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are: Aurora, Bennett, Brule, Campbell, Custer, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Hutchinson, Hyde, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lyman, McCook, Minnehaha, and Walworth.
Four North Dakota Counties are also eligible because they are contiguous: Adams, Bowman, Emmons, and Sioux.