Ag Committee Leaders Applaud CFTC Nominations


The leadership of the Senate and House Agriculture Committees applaud the recent nominations by President Joe Biden to the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. President Biden nominated Rostin Behman as CFTC chair, and Kristin Johnson and Cristy Goldsmith Romero as commissioners.

In 2019, Behnam spearheaded the establishment of CFTC’s Market Risk Advisory Committee’s Climate-Related Market Risk Subcommittee. Behnam joined the commission in 2017 as a commissioner, and since January 2021, has served as the Acting Chairman. Johnson is the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Law at Emory University School of Law. Finally, Romero is the Special Inspector General for the Troubled Asset Relief Program.

House Agriculture Chairman David Scott says, “I am very pleased with the nominees President Biden has tapped to help lead the CFTC.” Senate Agriculture Chair Debbie Stabenow adds, “I was very fortunate to work with Russ for many years and know that he is very knowledgeable and passionate about his work at CFTC.”