USDA Designates 45 North Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas


This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: North Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Jan. 26, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible

Adams Dunn Kidder Oliver Stark
Benson Eddy Logan Pembina Steele
Billings Emmons McHenry Pierce Stutsman
Bottineau Foster McKenzie Ramsey Towner
Bowman Golden Valley McLean Renville Traill
Burke Grand Forks Mercer Rolette Walsh
Burleigh Grant Morton Sheridan Ward
Cavalier Griggs Mountrail Sioux Wells
Divide Hettinger Nelson Slope Williams

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

North Dakota: Barnes, Cass, LaMoure and McIntosh

Minnesota: Kittson, Marshall, Norman and Polk

Montana: Fallon, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan and Wibaux

South Dakota: Campbell, Corson, Harding and Perkins

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.