ACE Endorses Congressional Action to Enable E15 Sales Year-Round


Sioux Falls, SD –The American Coalition for Ethanol (ACE) thanked Representatives Angie Craig (D-MN) and Adrian Smith (R-NE) for their leadership and support in introducing the Year-Round Fuel Choice Act along with other House biofuel supporters. This bipartisan legislation clarifies E15 should be allowed for sale year-round by extending the 1-psi Reid vapor pressure (RVP) waiver to fuel blends containing gasoline and over 10 percent ethanol. ACE CEO Brian Jennings endorses this legislation in the following statement:

“Achieving a national, permanent solution for E15 year-round is best done through Congress and we are enormously grateful for the leadership of Reps. Craig, Smith, and other House biofuel supporters for introducing this legislation to clarify the statute ahead of the 2023 summer driving season.

“Cutting the E15 red tape has been an urgent priority for our industry and this legislation would help unleash the cost saving benefits greater access to higher ethanol blends offers to consumers and decarbonize our transportation sector.

“While the Biden Administration’s emergency waiver this summer showed the benefits of E15 through lower pump prices and greenhouse gas and tailpipe emissions, without this legislation, it is possible to lose E15 sales next summer.

“ACE looks forward to continuing to help foster bipartisan support for this legislation to ensure E15, a clean and safe fuel with lower RVP emissions than E10 and straight gasoline, can still be sold next summer.”

Craig and Smith were joined in leading the introduction of the bill by Representatives Cindy Axne (D-IA), Dusty Johnson (R-SD), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Randy Feenstra (R-IA), Mike Flood (R-NE), James R. Baird (R-IN), Tracey Mann (KS-1), Jim Banks (IN-03), Mary Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Ashley Hinson (IA-01),Vicky Hartzler (MO-4), Sam Graves (R-MO), Ken Buck (R-CO), Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Brad Finstad (R-MN), Ron Estes (R-KS), Tim Ryan (D-OH), James Comer (R-KY) and Jason Smith (R-MO).

This bill is the House companion to the Senate bill introduced by Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Deb Fischer (R-NE) in late November.