Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeIndustry NewsNAWG Announces Chairman Glenn “GT” Thompson as 2023 Wheat Leader of the...

NAWG Announces Chairman Glenn “GT” Thompson as 2023 Wheat Leader of the Year

Washington, D.C. (February 15, 2024) – The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) awarded Chairman Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA-15) with its 2023 Wheat Leader of the Year Award for his work as Chair of the House Agriculture Committee. NAWG President and Oregon wheat farmer, Brent Cheyne, presented the award to Chairman Thompson during a recent visit to Washington, D.C.

“On behalf of NAWG, I thank Chairman Thompson for the work he has done on behalf of wheat growers nationwide,” said President Cheyne, “The 2023 Wheat Leader of the Year Award is the highest honor wheat growers can use to recognize legislators, and it finds the most deserving recipient in Chairman Thompson.”

The Wheat Leader of the Year is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award and is given annually by NAWG to one Member of Congress, whose commitment and support to the to the wheat industry goes above and beyond. NAWG also presented 19 Members of Congress with its Wheat Advocate Awards for their exceptional support of the wheat industry during 2023.

  • Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Ranking Member John Boozman (R-AR)
  • Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS)
  • Senator Jon Tester (D-MT)
  • Senator Pete Ricketts (R-NE)
  • Senator Mike Braun (R-IN)
  • Senator Michael Bennet (D-CO)
  • Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Ranking Member David Scott (D-GA-13)
  • Congressman Tracey Mann (R-KS-1)
  • Congressman Rick Crawford (R-AR-1)
  • Congressman Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-19)
  • Congressman John Garamendi (D-CA-8)
  • Congressman Dusty Johnson (R-SD-AL)
  • Congressman Jim Costa (D-CA-21)
  • Congressman Jodey Arrington (R-TX-19)
  • Congressman Ronny Jackson (R-TX-13)
  • Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA-5)
  • Congressman Dan Newhouse (R-WA-4)

Congratulations, and thank you, to all the award recipients for supporting wheat growers in the United States and helping continue the legacy of American grown grain.

- Advertisment -

Latest Stories