Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeAg NewsSenator Marshall Leads Letter Asking EPA To Appeal Arizona Dicamba Decision

Senator Marshall Leads Letter Asking EPA To Appeal Arizona Dicamba Decision

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Roger Marshall, M.D. led a letter to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) calling for the Biden Administration to appeal an adverse court decision to protect farmers from losing certain dicamba-based crop protection tools largely used in no-till farming.

The U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona released a decision to vacate certain Dicamba registrations at a time when farmers have already made planting decisions for the spring. The letter asks the EPA to not only appeal the decision but also to seek a stay pending the appeal. It also asks them to modify its current existing stocks order so farmers, retailers, and manufacturers won’t be impacted this spring.

“U.S. farmers are already coping with record input costs, crippling interest rates, and lackluster commodity prices. USDA is forecasting a major decline in 2024 farm income as well as a record agricultural trade deficit. The last thing farmers need now is to lose access to critical crop protection tools in which they have already invested thousands of dollars and on which they have based this year’s planting decisions.” The Senators said in the letter, “Crop protection tools like dicamba are vital to making no-till farming practical and efficient at a commercial level. If these tools are not available, farmers will be forced to revert to full tillage methods, which would ultimately set yields and conservation efforts back decades.”

The letter was also signed by Senators Jerry Moran (R-KS), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Thom Tillis (R-NC), John Hoeven (R-ND), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), James Lankford (R-OK), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Katie Boyd Britt (R-AL), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Ted Budd (R-NC), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Mike Braun (R-IN), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Joni Ernst (R-IA), John Thune (R-SD), and Todd Young (R-IN).

You may click HERE or scroll below to read the full letter.

- Advertisment -

Latest Stories