July 2, 2016

Top Stories


NASS Acreage and Stock Reports Provide Surprises – AUDIO

 The USDA June 30th Acreage report finds farmers have increased corn and soybean plantings this spring. Lance Honig is the Crops Branch Chief for USDA’s National Ag Statistics Service. He says for 2016, farmers have planted 323.4 million acres for the 21 principle crops across the United States… Honig Acreage Report 1 Based on the […]


Senate GMO Labeling Bill Clears First Hurdle; Nobel Laureates Urge Greenpeace To End GMO Opposition

The U.S. Senate Wednesday night cleared a procedural vote on the GMO labeling compromise by Senators Debbie Stabenow and Pat Roberts. The Senate voted 68-29 in favor of the vote, clearing the way for considerations on the Senate floor. Stabenow, the ranking Democrat on the Senate Agriculture Committee, says the bill “will have the votes” […]


Bayer To Host Local Show Case Plot Tours

Growers around the country are invited to visit a local Showcase Days event and learn about the most recent advances in managing weed resistance; sudden death syndrome in soybeans; nematode pressure; and other agronomic challenges. The events will also feature seed traits, varieties and hybrids. Showcase Days consists of a series of events scheduled in […]


Cost of 4th of July Picnic Remains Below $6.00 per Person

America’s favorite Fourth of July cookout foods include hot dogs, cheeseburgers, pork spare ribs, baked beans, potato salad, and milk, which will all cost a little more this year, according to the American Farm Bureau Federation. However, the cost to feed a group of ten people comes in at $56.06, which is less than $6 […]


More Ag News

More Posts from this Category